A Walk in the Night and Other Stories

A Walk in the Night and Other Stories

A Walk in the Night and Other Stories is a collection of short stories by South African author and anti-apartheid activist, Alex La Guma. The book was published in 1968 and contains seven short stories that detail the injustices arising from South Africa’s system of racial apartheid. The title piece, “A Walk in the Night”, tells the story of an impoverished black South African man who is tempted to join a gang after being unjustly fired from his job. The other stories in the book take place in a crowded prison, a restaurant, and a boxing ring. La Guma won the Lotus Prize for Literature in 1969.


Paperback, 129 pages

Published January 1st 1968 by Northwestern University Press (first published 1962)

Original Title: A Walk in the Night and Other Stories

ISBN: 0810101394 (ISBN13: 9780810101395)

Edition Language: English



Abe Books (Used - US$ 3.64): https://www.abebooks.com/servlet/BookDetailsPL?bi=22841907261&searchurl=isbn%3D0810101394%26sortby%3D17&cm_sp=snippet-_-srp1-_-title1

Amazon ($12.88): https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0810101394/ref=x_gr_w_bb?ie=UTF8&tag=x_gr_w_bb-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=0810101394&SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2